Is Poltava Russian or Ukrainian?

Is Poltava Russian or Ukrainian?

Poltava (UK: /pɒlˈtɑːvə/, US: /pəlˈ-/; Ukrainian: Полтава [polˈtɑwɐ]) is a city located on the Vorskla River in central Ukraine. It is the capital city of the Poltava Oblast (province) and of the surrounding Poltava Raion (district) of the oblast.

How old is Poltava?

Poltava, city, east-central Ukraine. It lies along the Vorskla River. Archaeological evidence dates the city from the 8th to the 9th century, although the first documentary reference is from 1174, when it was variously known as Oltava or Ltava.

What country is Poltava in?

Poltava Oblast

Poltava Oblast Полтавська область
Country Ukraine
Administrative center Poltava
• Governor Dmytro Lunin (acting)

What is the meaning of the term oblast?

Definition of oblast : a political subdivision of Imperial Russia or a republic of the Soviet Union or of Russia.

What is an oblast in Ukraine?

The oblasts (Ukrainian: область) or regions of Ukraine, of which there are 24, are the main type of first-level administrative division of Ukraine, the other types being an autonomous republic (Crimea) and two cities with special status (Kyiv and Sevastopol).

How far is Poltava from Polish border?

It is 1055 km from Poland to Poltava.

What is the difference between a Krai and an oblast?

The only difference between an oblast and a krai is tradition, as Krai was used to refer to territories at the edge of the main Russian state and was traditionally occupied by ethnic non-Russians. Legally there is no difference in status between an Oblast and a Krai.

What is a rayon in Azerbaijan?

The word is from the French “rayon” (meaning “honeycomb, department”), and is commonly translated as “district” in English. A raion is a standardized administrative entity across most of the former Soviet Union and is usually a subdivision two steps below the national level, such as a subdivision of an oblast.

What is an oblast equivalent to?

The term oblast can be translated into English as “province” or “region”, and there are currently 46 oblasts, the most common type of the 85 federal subjects in Russia.

What is the biggest oblast in Russia?

Tyumen Oblast
The largest oblast by geographic size is Tyumen Oblast at 1,435,200km2 (excluding autonomous okrugs Irkutsk Oblast is the largest at 767,900km2) and the smallest is Kaliningrad Oblast at 15,100km2. The most populous oblast is Moscow Oblast at 7,095,120 and the least populous is Magadan Oblast at 156,996.

What are the 9 krais?

The country is divided into 85 federal subjects, of which nine are krais….Krais of Russia.

Number 9
Populations 322,079 (Kamchatka Krai) – 5,404,300 (Krasnodar Krai)
Areas 117,600 sq mi (304,500 km2) (Stavropol Krai) – 903,400 sq mi (2,339,700 km2) (Krasnoyarsk Krai)
Government Krai Government

What does the name Raion mean?

A raion (also spelt rayon) is a type of administrative unit of several post-Soviet states. The term is used for both a type of subnational entity and a division of a city. The word is from the French “rayon” (meaning “honeycomb, department”), and is commonly translated as “district” in English.