What are the 4 levels of PPE?

What are the 4 levels of PPE?

Levels of PPE

  • Full-face or half-mask, air-purifying respirator (NIOSH approved).
  • Chemical resistant clothing (one piece coverall, hooded two piece chemical splash suit, chemical resistant hood and apron, disposable chemical resistant coveralls.)
  • Gloves, outer, chemical resistant.
  • Gloves, inner, chemical resistant.

What is Category II PPE?

This category includes any PPE that protect against great hazards. Each eye protection equipment (PPE) used for work-related purposes must at least be classified as category II. Therefore, testing is mandatory.

How do you determine PPE category?

The Arc Flash Personal Protective Equipment (PPE) Category is determined by consulting the PPE tables in article 130.7 of the NFPA 70E standard. PPE categories range from 1 to 4 (with four having the highest incident energy rating and requiring the most protective gear).

How many levels is PPE classified?

4 PPE Levels
The 4 PPE Levels include: Level A: According to OSHA Level A PPE should be worn when, “when the greatest level of skin, respiratory, and eye protection is required.” This type of protective equipment is needed for dealing with highly toxic and dangerous chemicals such as ammonia.

What is Level B PPE?

Level B protection is required under circumstances requiring the highest level of respiratory protection, with lesser level of skin protection. At most abandoned outdoor hazardous waste sites, ambient atmospheric vapors or gas levels have not approached sufficiently high concentrations to warrant level A protection.

What is a Level 1 Hazmat?

Emergency Response Levels A Level 1 incident “involves hazardous materials that can be contained, extinguished, and/or abated using immediately available public sector responders having jurisdiction.” Level 1 incidents present little risk to the environment and to public health with containment and cleanup.

What is a Category 1 PPE?

PPE CAT 1 represents the lowest level in which Arc Rated PPE s required. Requiring a single layer of arc-rated PPE, workers need the following clothing: Required Clothing: Long Sleeve Shirt (or Jacket) and Pants or AR Coverall with minimum arc rating of 4 cal/cm. 2.

What is PPE Category III?

Category III. Complex PPE. (PPE falling under this category includes exclusively the risks that may cause very serious consequences such as death or irreversible damage to health) On-going surveillance through testing or factory auditing. Respiratory PPE.

What is PPE category3?

PPE Category 3: PPE Category 3 and 4 require additional layers of PPE. Arc flash suit hoods are required and rubber insulating gloves and leather protectors, or arc-rated gloves are required.

What does Level B PPE include?

Level B PPE Ensemble Elements

Clothing Chemical-resistant inner suit (e.g., Tyvek coveralls)1
Face shield1
Hard hat (worn under suit)1
Gloves Inner and outer chemical-resistant gloves
Boots Chemical-resistant boots, with steel toe and shank OR Disposable, chemical-resistant outer boot covers1

What is a Level D mask?

Level D. Level D is considered the minimum line of protection from hazardous environments. No air respirator is necessary for Level D working conditions. Employees will utilize coveralls, safety boots and chemical-resistant goggles for nominal defense.