What is an ASAM certification?

What is an ASAM certification?

The ASAM Level of Care Certification addresses the addiction health crisis by establishing processes for validation of treatment program capabilities, building industry transparency, and increasing patient confidence in treatment services.

How do I become a fellow of ASAM?

The ASAM Fellow Designation (FASAM) To qualify for the FASAM designation, physicians must be members of ASAM for two consecutive years and be currently certified in Addiction Medicine.

What does ASAM stand for?


Acronym Definition
ASAM American Society of Addiction Medicine
ASAM Advanced Security for Account Managers (exam; Cisco)
ASAM Alternative Schools Accountability Model (California)
ASAM Atm Subscriber Access Multiplexer

How long does ASAM certification last?

three years
How long will the certification last? A. After a program is certified, CARF will annually require attestation to the elements of the certification. To continue certification beyond three years, the program will need to demonstrate satisfaction of the ratable elements through another survey.

How long does it take to complete Asam?

about 60 minutes
After training and a learning curve of 15-20 cases, the ASAM CONTINUUM assessment was independently found to take the average clinician about 60 minutes to complete.

What is ASAM criteria used for?

The ASAM Criteria. The ASAM Criteria is the nation’s most widely used and comprehensive set of guidelines for placement, continued stay, and transfer/discharge of patients with addiction and co-occurring conditions.

How much does it cost to join ASAM?

$40 – National Dues Resident Members shall be members who are interns, residents, or fellows. Resident members shall have a valid medical license in localities where that is required or an equivalent certifying document.

Why is the ASAM used?

The ASAM Criteria provides treatment professionals with objective standards they can use to help identify the least intensive treatment services that can help keep a participant safe as he or she works to make personal life changes.

How many dimensions are there in ASAM?

In ASAM’s multidimensional assessment, the six dimensions are used to summarize a person’s needs, define severity and develop a treatment plan. Clinicians use the dimensions to identify problems, goals and treatment plan objectives.

What is the ASAM Criteria used for?

The ASAM Criteria is a collection of objective guidelines that give clinicians a way to standardize treatment planning and where patients are placed in treatment, as well as how to provide continuing, integrated care and ongoing service planning.