What is NIST 800-37 used for?

What is NIST 800-37 used for?

NIST SP 800-37 provides guidelines for applying the Risk Management Framework (RMF) to information systems and organizations including defining RMF roles, responsibilities, and life cycle process.

What is NIST 800 37r2?

National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST) Special Publication (SP) 800-37 revision 2 is a Risk Management Framework for Information Systems and Organizations: A System Lifecycle Approach for Security and Privacy.

What are the NIST 800 standards?

The NIST 800 series is a technical standard set of publications that details U.S. government procedures, policies, and guidelines on information systems – developed by the National Institute of Standards and Technology.

What are the 3 tiers of the NIST Risk Management Framework?

The NIST SP 800-39 lists three tiers at which risk management should be addressed:

  • organizational tier,
  • business process tier;
  • information systems tier.

What are the 18 control families?

Control Families:

  • AC – Access Control.
  • AU – Audit and Accountability.
  • AT – Awareness and Training.
  • CM – Configuration Management.
  • CP – Contingency Planning.
  • IA – Identification and Authentication.
  • IR – Incident Response.
  • MA – Maintenance.

What is the meaning of NIST?

National Institute of Standards and Technology
National Institute of Standards and Technology.

When was NIST 800-37 created?

NIST Special Publication 800-37 Rev. 1 was published in February 2010 under the title “Guide for Applying the Risk Management Framework to Federal Information Systems: A Security Life Cycle Approach”.

What is NIST purge?

NIST Purge Purge refers to a physical or logical technique (while Clear only uses logical techniques) that renders target data recovery infeasible using state-of-the-art laboratory overwrite, block erase, and cryptographic erase methods.

Who needs NIST?

Any organization that processes or stores sensitive, unclassified information on behalf of the US government is required to be compliant with the National Institute of Standards and Technology Special Publication 800-171 (NIST SP 800-171) cybersecurity standards.

What are Tier 2 and 3 risks?

Broadly, the degree of detail and quality of the data at each level can be described as: Tier 1: Qualitative (Introductory Risk Assessment) Tier 2: Semi-quantitative (Advanced Risk Assessment) Tier 3: Quantitative (Advanced Risk Assessment)

What are the 7 steps of RMF?

The RMF is a now a seven-step process as illustrated below:

  • Step 1: Prepare.
  • Step 2: Categorize Information Systems.
  • Step 3: Select Security Controls.
  • Step 4: Implement Security Controls.
  • Step 5: Assess Security Controls.
  • Step 6: Authorize Information System.
  • Step 7: Monitor Security Controls.

Is there a NIST 800-53 certification?

The NCSP® 800-53 Specialist accredited certification course with exam teach candidates how to Adopt, Implement & Operationalize the NIST 800-53 controls and management systems using a Service Value Management Model that will ensure the Capability, Quality and Efficacy of an enterprise cybersecurity risk management …