What is Tri Service Command?

What is Tri Service Command?

The Andaman and Nicobar Command (ANC) is the first and only tri-service theater command of the Indian Armed Forces, based at Port Blair in the Andaman and Nicobar Islands, a Union Territory of India.

What does the C stand for in military aircraft?

A: Attack aircraft (for tactical air-to-surface mission) B: Bomber (for strategic air-to-surface mission) C: Cargo (i.e. Transport) E: Special electronic installation. F: Fighter.

What does P stand for in military aircraft?

(Note: The U.S. Army Air Service used the term “P” for pursuit aircraft, adapted from the French Avion de Chasse for pursuit or hunt airplane. After World War II, the term fighter was formally adopted by the USAF with the designator “F.”) R Reconnaissance Aircraft designed to perform reconnaissance missions.

Why is there no F 13?

Since the unification of the numbering system in 1962, U.S. fighters have been designated by consecutive numbers, beginning with the F-1 Fury. F-13 was never assigned to a fighter due to triskaidekaphobia, though the designation had previously been used for a reconnaissance version of the B-29.

Where is Tri-Service command?

Port Blair
The Andaman and Nicobar Command is the first and only Tri-service theatre command of the Indian Armed Forces, based at Port Blair in the Andaman and Nicobar Islands.

How many tri-service commands India?

Additionally, there are two tri-service commands currently: Strategic Forces Command (SFC) Andaman and Nicobar Command (ANC)

What does the F stand for in f35?

As we said, an “F” stands for fighter and an “A’ stands for an attack aircraft that can be used against ground forces.

What does the K stand for in KC-135?

The last KC-135 was delivered to the Air Force in 1965. The aircraft’s KC identifier stands for (K) tanker (C) transport. The aircraft is powered by four turbofan engines mounted on 35-degree swept wings, has a flight speed of more than 500 mph and a flight range of nearly 1,500 miles when loaded with 150,000 lbs.

What does F stand for in f35?

What does KC mean in aircraft?

K = Tanker. V = VIP. C = Cargo. The C-135 is a military Boeing 707, so the KC-135 is the tanker version.

Is there af17?

On May 2, 1975, the Navy announced it had chosen the F-17 variant as its new lightweight fighter. The F-17 then evolved into the F/A- 18A, the F/A designation coined by the McDonnell Douglas/Northrop team to suggest a multirole fighter/attack aircraft.

Is there an f17 jet?

The Northrop YF-17 (nicknamed “Cobra”) is a prototype lightweight fighter aircraft designed by Northrop aviation for the United States Air Force’s Lightweight Fighter (LWF) technology evaluation program….Northrop YF-17.

YF-17 “Cobra”
Number built 2
Developed into McDonnell Douglas F/A-18 Hornet

What is the Tri-Service aircraft designation system?

The Tri-Service aircraft designation system is a unified system introduced in 1962 by the United States Department of Defense for designating all U.S. military aircraft.

How many stars will the new tri-service commands have?

Even the news about the new Tri-Service Commands is laced with which service will head which command – the usual bureaucratic ploy as to how many three stars and how many two stars each individual service will have. That is how the Aerospace Command was given the burial in 2004-2005 through throwing up such infructuous issues.

Will special forces be part of India’s tri-service commands?

NEW DELHI: The Modi government has finally got cracking on the long-pending proposal to create three new tri-Service commands to handle the critical arenas of space, cyberspace and clandestine warfare in the form of Special Forces.

Who will be in charge of India’s new aerospace command?

The plan is to have three-star generals (Lt-Generals/Air Marshals/Vice Admirals) from the service with the “requisite core competence” to be the commanders-in-chief of the new commands. So, while the structures and manpower will be tri-Service, the Aerospace Command is likely to be headed by an IAF officer.