Who has an OAM?

Who has an OAM?


  • Margaret Culhane OAM was awarded the Medal of the Order of Australia in 2012.
  • Gwen Abikhair OAM was awarded the Medal of the Order of Australia in 2005.
  • Senior Sergeant Ken Rach OAM was awarded the Medal of the Order of Australia in 2005.
  • Glenn Sargeant OAM was awarded the Medal of the Order of Australia in 2004.

Who chooses Order of Australia recipients?

The council itself has 19 members, who are appointed by the governor general on the recommendation of the prime minister. The current chair is Shane Stone. Orders of Australia are awarded twice a year – on 26 January and the Queen’s birthday.

Who was Australian of the Year 2018?

Michelle Yvonne Simmons

Who is the most famous Aboriginal?

The 10 Most Famous Indigenous Australians

  • Deborah Mailman (actress)
  • Samantha Harris (model)
  • Jessica Mauboy (singer)
  • Leah Purcell (actress, writer)
  • Noel Pearson (lawyer, activist)
  • Adam Goodes (AFL football player)
  • Linda Burney (politician)
  • Mandawuy Yunupingu (singer/musician/songwriter)

What is the difference between AO and OAM?

In the Australian honours system appointments to the Order of Australia confer the highest recognition for outstanding achievement and service. Officer of the Order (AO) Member of the Order (AM) Medal of the Order (OAM)

Who was the first Aboriginal Australian of the Year?

List of Australian of the Year Award recipients

Year of award Name Comments
1979 Neville Bonner First Aboriginal elected to the Parliament of Australia
Harry Butler Naturalist
1980 Manning Clark Historian
1981 Sir John Crawford Economist

Who is the Senior Australian of the Year 2020?

Minister for Aged Care and Senior Australians, Richard Colbeck, has tonight paid tribute to the 2020 Senior Australian of the Year. Professor John Newnham, AM, of Western Australia, was honoured by Prime Minister Scott Morrison during a ceremony at the National Arboretum in Canberra.

What is the difference between AM and OAM?

Individuals are appointed a Member of the Order of Australia (AM) for service in a particular locality or field of activity or to a particular group. The Medal of the Order of Australia (OAM) is awarded for service worthy of particular recognition.

Who refused the Order of Australia in 1985 because of the state of Aboriginal health?

Over a three year period this program screened 100, 000 Australians. In 1985 Fred Hollows was awarded the Order of Australia but refused to accept it in protest to the poor state of Aboriginal Health.

What’s the highest medal of honor?

Congressional Medal of Honor

How do you nominate someone for an OBE?

HOW DO I NOMINATE SOMEONE FOR AN OBE? To make a nomination for an OBE you need to complete the official nomination document telling the Honours and Appointments Secretariat at the Cabinet Office all about the nominee’s outstanding work and achievements.

What is a Companion of the Order of Australia?

The Companion of the Order of Australia is awarded for eminent achievement and merit of the highest degree in service to Australia or humanity at large. The Order of Australia has four levels: Medal of the Order (OAM)

Who is the current Australian of the Year?

Grace Tame has been awarded the 2021 Australian of the Year award for her work with the #LetHerSpeak campaign.

What was the first Aboriginal newspaper in Australia called?

The Australian Abo Call

Is Aboriginal DNA different?

Genetics. Studies regarding the genetic makeup of Aboriginal Australian people are still ongoing, but evidence has suggested that they have genetic inheritance from ancient Eurasian but not more modern peoples, share some similarities with Papuans, but have been isolated from Southeast Asia for a very long time.

How do you get nominated for Australian of the Year?

The selection criteria are:

  • Significant contribution to the Australian community and nation.
  • An inspirational role model for the Australian community.
  • Demonstrated excellence in their field.
  • The Local Hero award acknowledges a significant contribution at local community level.

Why was there no Australian of the Year in 1993?

During the 1990s, the Australian of the Year award intersected noticeably with the politics of national identity. From 1994 onward the award became one for the year ahead, so that the 1994 Australian of the Year was announced on Australia Day in 1994. This resulted in there being no Australian of the Year for 1993.

When was the first Australian of the Year?


Who won Australian of the Year 2019?

Richard Harris

Who chooses Australian of the Year?

National Australia Day Council Board

What do you write in a nomination letter?

  1. Tell What and How. WHAT did the nominee(s) do? •
  2. Communicate sincerity and personal commitment. Show that you personally value the contributions of your nominee(s). Write your nomination from the heart, and provide as much specific information as you can.

When was the last aboriginal tribe found?


What is the most primitive tribe in the world?

If not, the entire tribe could be wiped out by diseases to which they have no immunity. The Sentinelese are the most isolated tribe in the world, and have captured the imagination of millions. They live on their own small forested island called North Sentinel, which is approximately the size of Manhattan.