Who won 2008 election in Pakistan?

Who won 2008 election in Pakistan?

Asif Ali Zardari was elected President of Pakistan, as Chief election commissioner Qazi Mohammad Farooq announced that “Asif Ali Zardari secured 241 votes out of the 426 valid votes polled in the parliament,” In Sindh, Zardari had 62 of the 65 electoral votes while his 2 main opponents, got zero vote; in Khyber …

Who won the election 2008?

Obama won a decisive victory over McCain, winning the Electoral College and the popular vote by a sizable margin, including states that had not voted for the Democratic presidential candidate since 1976 (North Carolina) and 1964 (Indiana and Virginia).

Who was in power in Pakistan in 2008?

2008 Pakistani general election

Leader Asif Ali Zardari Nisar Ali Khan
Party PPP PML(N)
Leader since 30 December 2007 2005
Leader’s seat Did not contest Rawalpindi-III
Seats won 116 99

What was happening in Pakistan in 2008?

15 February – Pakistan announces the arrest of a fifth man in connection with the assassination of Benazir Bhutto. Pakistan and India agree to double the number of flights between the two nations. 16 February – 37 people are killed in a bombing in the town of Parachinar at an election rally.

Why did PTI boycott 2008 election?

The PTI remained in opposition to the pro-Pervez Musharraf’s government led by the Pakistan Muslim League–Quaid (PML–Q) and later boycotted the 2008 Pakistani general election, accusing it of being conducted with fraudulent procedures.

Which Prime Minister of Pakistan has the shortest tenure as premier?

Chundrigar of Muslim League had the shortest term of 55 days. Yousaf Raza Gilani of PPP had the longest consecutive term of 4 years and 86 days. At approximately 9 years and 215 days in total, Nawaz Sharif of PML (N) has been the longest-serving prime minister for a non-consecutive term.

Who was in 2008 election?

2008 United States elections

Presidential election
Barack Obama (D) 365
John McCain (R) 173
2008 Presidential election results map. Blue denotes states/districts won by Democrat Barack Obama, and Red denotes those won by Republican John McCain. Numbers indicate electoral votes won by each candidate.
Senate elections

Who was the presidential in 2008?

Barack Obama served as the 44th President of the United States.

Who ruled in 2008?


Post Name
Karnataka Rameshwar Thakur
Kerala R. L. Bhatia (until 10 July) R. S. Gavai (starting 11 July)
Madhya Pradesh Balram Jakhar
Maharashtra S.M. Krishna (until 5 March) S.C. Jamir (starting 5 March)

What happened first in Yousafzai’s life?

On September 1, 2008, when Yousafzai was 11 years old, her father took her to a local press club in Peshawar to protest the school closings, and she gave her first speech—“How Dare the Taliban Take Away My Basic Right to Education?” Her speech was publicized throughout Pakistan.

How did Pakistan gain independence?

Pakistan emerged in 1947 from a British India, which was partitioned into two Dominions, India and Pakistan. On 14 August 1947, Pakistan achieved independence one day prior to Indian independence. India was partitioned, and an East and West Pakistan were created from Muslim majority areas.

Who is the Prime Minister of Pakistan?

Shehbaz SharifPakistan / Prime minister